Pattaya —

The Pattaya Marathon 2023 was deemed an amazing success as thousands of enthusiastic runners participated in the intense race on its final day, Sunday, July 23rd, despite the steady but refreshing rain, according to Pattaya officials.

On July 23rd, at 03:30 AM, Ms. Titilak Kumpa, the Deputy Governor of Chonburi province, presided over the opening ceremony of the long-distance marathon race. Also present were Mr. Manoch Nongyai, the Deputy Mayor of Pattaya, and Ms. Anoma Wongyai, Director of the Tourism Authority of Thailand’s Pattaya Office.

The final round of the Pattaya Marathon 2023 took place at the starting point in front of Terminal 21 Pattaya. The two-day event saw its largest crowd ever, with thousands of runners from across Thailand and around the globe, according to an official report from tourism associations and Pattaya City Officials. Over 14,000 people participated in the two-day event in some form, be it running, spectating, or organisation.


The Tourism and Sports Office of Pattaya organized the Pattaya Marathon over the last weekend, with an aim to elevate the city’s marathon competition to an international level. The event also served as a boost for tourism, enhancing Pattaya’s reputation as a “Sports City”, and also encouraged young people and the general public to engage in physical activities to promote a healthy lifestyle.

The final day featured a marathon race with a distance of 42.195 kilometers starting at 03:30 AM, and a half-marathon race with a distance of 21.100 kilometers starting at 05:10 AM. Despite the light rain showers, the runners remained undeterred and full of determination, bravely running through the rain with joy and enthusiasm.


After just a few hours of racing, participants from both distances gradually crossed the finish line in the following order:

  • Overall (Male) 42.195 km.

1.Bililign Yimer ETH 2.22.27

2.Ebisa Takele ETH 2.25.10

3.Wendwesen Tilahun ETH 2.30.15

  • Overall (Female) 42 .195 km.

1.Tsega Desta ETH 2.56.28

2.Marta Tinsae Birehan ETH 2.56.35

3.Muriuki Shelmith Nyawira KEN 2.58.13

  • Overall (Male) 21 .100 km.

1.John Muiruri KEN 1.09.40

2.Sanchai Namkhet THA 1.09.51

3.Richard Salano PHI 1.12.04

  • Overall (Female) 21 .100 km.

1.Gebeyehu Adbaru ETH 1.21.07

2.Christine Hallasgo PHI 1.21.34

3.Ornanong Wongsorn THA 1.26.09


Overall, Pattaya City expressed its gratitude and congratulations to all the winners in every category. It is hoped that all the athletes had experienced joy and inspiration throughout the event. Pattaya City looks forward to welcoming everyone to participate in the Pattaya Marathon 2024 and the years to come.


The original version of this article appeared on our sister website, The Pattaya News, owned by our parent company TPN media.


Don’t forget to subscribe to our newsletter and get all our news delivered to you in one spam-free daily e-mail Click here! OR, enter your e-mail below!

Tanakorn Panyadee
The Latest Local News Translator at The Pattaya News. Aim is a twenty-two year old who currently lives and studies his last year of college in Bangkok. Interested in English translation, story-telling, and entrepreneurship, he believes that hard-work is an indispensable component of every success in this world.